*BOOK REVIEW* Counting Down With You


Hey y’all! Welcome, welcome! I’m so glad you’re here!

There are very few books that truly capture me from the first page and grip my collar the entire book. The book I’m talking about today did just that. I am very privileged I get to read a lot of ARCs of all different genres, diversity and age ranges, but I continually come back to this book. I’m talking about Counting Down With You by 2021 Debut Author Tashie Bhuiyan. I can not even begin to express my love and admiration for this book. Without further ado, let’s get right into it.

Thank you to NetGalley and Inkyard Press for the ARC of this book. All opinions are my own.

I don’t even know how to put into words how fast my heart is still racing and the tears are still falling from my eyes. I am truly, madly, deeply in love with this book. It has everything I’ve ever loved all wrapped up into one. It truly is one of the most incredible YA contemporaries I have ever read in my life.

I want to put a trigger warning out: this book talks about anxiety/how to cope as an individual. There are scenes with panic attacks.

Everything about this book is pure magic, from the first chapter I fell in love with Karina. While I’m not Bangladeshi or Muslim, so I’ll never fully understand what Karina was truly going through, I understand the struggle she felt in always wanting to please her parents. Again, not on the level that Karina was experiencing but I related to that. She won me over with her wit, determination and incredible comebacks. Her friends and their strong foundation gave me so much warmth. Honestly, this whole book (yes even the heart string scenes) was like a warm hug.

I won’t go into spoilers because you’ll need to read this for yourself on May 4, 2021 but Karina and Ace just topped LJ and Peter and LJ and John Ambrose (my superior ship) and are my favorite YA couple I’ve ever met. Full disclosure: I want Alastair Clyde for myself, so Karina, please, just one time let me have him. Any man that is willing to buy you as many books as you want is absolutely a keeper. Karina and Ace are the superior ship. You can’t change my mind.

This book is so many things, but I think perfection encompasses it well. You do NOT want to miss this! Seriously, you won’t regret it. It’s magic. It’s sweet and everything you could want. I have read this three times and it gets better and better each time.

Who’s your favorite YA contemporary ship? And why is it Ace & Karina? Let me know in the comments! Until next time..

Safe Flights and Happy Reading Nights!

XO

B