The Gilded Ones Review


Hey y’all! Welcome, welcome. I’m so glad you’re here.

My apologies for not posting for a few days. I’ve been hard at work on my 2021 releases lists and a few should be up in the next couple of days. I’m finishing them up now. In the mean time, I have some more reviews coming at you. This is for a book I had high up on my list for 2021 releases. The Gilded Ones is easily one of my favorite ARC’s I’ve received. I can’t wait for all of you to get your hands on this book. Until then, I have a review for ya! Without further ado, let’s get right into it!

Thank you to NetGalley and Delacorte Press for the arc of this book. All opinions are my own. 

EXCUSE ME NAMINA!!! My heart is hammering in my chest, my jaw is slack and I can’t formulate words to make anything coherent. 

I have read a lot of YA Fantasy over the years and it’s getting harder and harder to really knock my socks off, but I can say I am SO GLAD I waited until I was in the right headspace to read so that I could give this book the proper attention it deserved. This book is a FORCE to be reckoned with in fantasy. From the world building, the magical system to the relationship dynamics, the flow of words, to the beautifully crafted plot this book was flawless. From the beginning, you’re sucked into Deka’s world. It’s easy to feel her pain as she feels it. 

On a journey of discovery, self worth, self love and liberation, The Gilded Ones takes you on the journey with Deka, Britta, Keita, White Hands and the rest of their group as they traipse across the desert to fight the big bad, the deathshrieks. The way Namina paints a picture- it builds the scene in your mind. Every point vivid and beautiful. Her ability to pull you in, keep you sucked in and then rip your heart out to put it back together is incredible. 

It was easy to fall in the love with the characters, but even easier to relate to them. This book will take you on a powerful journey. Full of imagery, power, deceit and learning to believe in yourself. It’s fantastically done and I can not recommend this enough.

What other fantasy books are on your list this year? Let me know in the comments below! Until next time…

Safe Flights & Happy Reading Nights!

XO

B


Leave a comment