Wings of Ebony Review


Hey y’all! Welcome, welcome! I am so glad you’re here!

I have really gotten blessed by the ARC gods lately. I don’t know who they are or what I did to please them, but I’ve really loved getting a chance to get some of my most anticipated books before their release. Mind you, I still have all of these pre-ordered and can’t wait to get the physical copy into my grubby little hands, but reading them early was such a treat. Today’s book Wings of Ebony has been a book I’ve coveted for a long time. From just the cover image, I was sold. But that blurb? Yeah, I immediately smashed the TBR button on Goodreads. I kid you not, this book BLEW MY MIND! I don’t think I’ll ever get over it. So, without further ado, let’s get right into it.

Thank you to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for the arc of this book. All opinions are my own. 

Look, I’m not going to sit here and beat around the bush, but Rue is one of the baddest, if not the baddest, main character I’ve ever come across. What a total bada**. Easily one of the best characters I’ve ever read. She truly is a diamond. I can’t get over it. 

This book is absolutely magnificent. I don’t understand how people can’t have this on their TBR. Wow, wow, wow. One of the best books I’ve ever read. Incredible pacing, fantastic plot that was well developed and carefully crafted, and some of the best, most well rounded characters I’ve ever read. As a writer, I also love to create characters and say TRAUMA. J. Elle didn’t shy away from that, but it only fuels the main characters, Rue, Bri and Aasim, to be who they are. It allows the story to flourish. The arcs of each character are so well done that you love the characters, even when you don’t want too. Beside the General/Chancellor and one whom I will not name for spoilers. 

I’m not sure how I read this so quickly, but I devoured this book. I couldn’t get enough. When I had time to read, my face was in this book. This is one of the best YA fantasy books I have ever read and it’s in good competition for the top (even though it could easily take that spot). I was blown away. I’m not sure I could adequately put into words how good it is. The characters are well developed. The plot is so well done, intricately carving out Easter eggs to find throughout. The romance is slow and sweet. I just couldn’t get enough. This book needs to be on your radar! 

A fantastic, all around great book. One that will easily top my 2021 list!

What’s your favorite fantasy you’ve ever read? Let me know in the comments below! Until next time..

Safe Flights & Happy Reading Nights!

XO

B


One response to “Wings of Ebony Review”

Leave a comment