Legendborn Review


Hey y’all! Welcome, welcome! I’m glad you’re here.

I have truly been a reading machine lately. I’ve started to slow down a little now, but I have read some incredible books lately! Be prepared for a ton of reviews coming at you. Some ARCs, some are new releases, some are books I’ve just taken a hot minute to get to. Today, I’m going to talk about an Arthurian re-telling in the YA Fantasy genre. Without further ago, let’s get right into it.

Legendborn is a young adult fantasy novel written by Tracy Deonn. It’s based upon an Arthurian re-telling following a young woman named Bree, an EC student at UNC, who stumbles upon a secret society after witnessing a magical fight. It’s not really news to her when that secret society isn’t exactly as it seems.

I don’t know which character I love more: Bree, Nick or Selwyn. Bree is strong, beautiful, and so talented. Plus her witty comebacks make her a true force to be reckoned with. I’ve read a lot of fantasy lately, but the magic system within this is truly spectacular. To watch Nick and Selwyn wield it and Bree to learn how is something special. From the plot to the prose, Tracy truly finds an incredible way to tell a story about overcoming grief, change and finding who you are. Easily, this has become one of my favorite books of the year. I’ve never been a big fan of Arthurian retellings, but if there’s multiple books in this universe- I will consume every single one of them. The way magic hides in plain sight, yet has an influence in everything that happens is truly magical. From the friends to lovers dynamic, the friendship dynamics, the enemies to potential friends? I don’t think there was anything I didn’t love except the fact I can’t transport myself into this world.

Have you read Legendborn? What’s your favorite Arthurian retelling? Let me know in the comments! Until next time…

Safe Flights & Happy Reading Nights!

XO

B